Dear lazyweb: Question about udev/HAL

March 19, 2009

Is there a way to tell udev/HAL that a certain device file is a block device which it should automount (ideally through some C/C++ method calls)?

On the background: I’ve been working on KaNDAS again, and as most of you did not hear of KaNDAS, I’ll introduce it again: NDAS is a patented system for network drives with a closed-source Linux driver. Its only interface is a folder in procfs and a quite inconvenient command-line administration tool. As I have to use such a device, I implemented a better solution. A root daemon (KaNDASd) polls on the procfs and sends some metadata about connected devices to DBus clients (a KDE 4 client and a suite of command line tools is available). The clients send action requests (connect or disconnect) to the root daemon which transfers them to the standard administration tool.

The problem I’m having is that when I connect the NDAS, a block device /dev/ndas-[serial]-0p1 (with the “p1” for the first partition) appears which I can mount, but I want KaNDAS to tell udev or HAL that this device be offered for automounting. Do you know a solution for this? (I haven’t found something like API documentation for udev or HAL.)

On a completely unrelated side note, the ODE port of Kolf is complete after I brought the black hole back to life.

3 Responses to “Dear lazyweb: Question about udev/HAL”

  1. Lamarque V. Souza Says:

    Hi, you can try the command:

    hal-set-property –udi –key storage.automount_enabled_hint –bool true

    use lshal to discover the udi.

    instead of using hal-set-property you can add a .fdi file to /etc/hal/fdi/information/. Like this

    true

  2. majewsky Says:

    I cannot find the device in lshal output. It is in /sys/class/block/, however. I can’t make a clue of this.

  3. Lamarque V. Souza Says:

    Try:

    lshal | grep -B 1 /dev/


Leave a Reply

