$ echo “A clear sign of madness”

September 13, 2011

What’s a clear sign that I’m a command-line addict? Not only do I have a custom prompt. My prompt is generated by a Python program, which has already grown to over 200 lines. My prompt detects Git and SVN repos, my custom build directory hierarchy, deleted directories at or above $PWD, common usernames and hostnames, shell type and shell level; and it’s still missing some features. What do you think: Is this madness? Does anyone else here use fully custom prompts?

15 Responses to “$ echo “A clear sign of madness””

  1. Andy Says:

    I used to try and customise my shell but I’ve switched to oh-my-zsh now and it does pretty much everything I’d like.

    Checking your script out the added SVN info looks like a nice addition. I get extra git details but nothing like that for SVN. Might have a stab at updating the SVN plugin to do that.

  2. Francesco R. Says:

    hom>viv>dig>cppsrc (master *%) # it became madness when you have to *wait* for your prompt to appear.

  3. xsacha Says:

    I think that such custom prompts are born of a need for such features. Perhaps you can share your custom prompt so we don’t need to spend as much effort to do the same tasks? 🙂

    Many people have a default prompt and waste a lot of time doing something that could have already been set up for them.

  4. Dotan Cohen Says:

    The unicode airplane makes it easy to find the prompt lines when there’s a lot of output on the console:
    ✈demios:~$

  5. Harsh Says:

    What you need is ZSH and robbyrussell’s oh-my-zsh. Building all that atop is then easy as installing modules in most cases.

    But perhaps you are already using it.

    • Stefan Majewsky Says:

      “What you need is ZSH and robbyrussell’s oh-my-zsh.”

      Should take a look at this, but the advantage of using a separate program is that it also works on bash on workstations where zsh is not available.


      • Honestly, how often does that happen?

        I used to avoid adding custom aliases, global shortcuts, and changing a lot of stuff just so that it would be simpler if I ever moved to another workstation.

        I ultimately concluded that I spend 99.9% of my time on my workspace, and not optimizing it cause of that .1% was insane.

        Move to ZSH. All major distros support it. And it’s not like you’ll be crippled if you move to a workstation that doesn’t have it.


    • You need zsh and #zsh on irc.freenode.net 😉

      oh-my-zsh is nice for beginners, but it gets messy fast. Baking your own is preferable, imo.

  6. Gunni Says:

    Very nice. I like the git feature.
    From the comment from Harsh i start to think modularizing your script could be really nice to add features.

  7. Cristóbal Says:

    Sorry for my newbie question… I did a quick search with no results.

    How can I use that script as my prompt?

    Thanks!


Leave a comment